Skip to content

Does it satisfy? Matt Dillahunty and Shane Rogerson

March 24, 2015

Check out this video of a great lunchtime conversation held last week between atheist Matt Dillahunty and Christian Shane Rogerson.

Which experience of life is most satisfying? Atheism or Christianity?

Both have experience as committed atheists.

Both have experience as committed Christians.

Matt Dillahunty once studied at theological seminary to bolster his faith, but he lost it, became an atheist and is now the host of the TV show ‘The Atheist Experience’

Shane Rogerson was once a Marxist atheist, but was converted to Christianity and is now the pastor of an evangelical church in Prahran in Melbourne.

This is the video of the event hosted by City Bible Forum. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts and reflections on the event.

I’m the guy moderating and I tried to be fair. I just let Matt and Shane have the conversation together and I tried to adopt a more hands-off approach. I think it worked quite well and they had a substantial exchange.

I hope you like the event. I think it is one of our better lunchtime forums.

From → Ethics, News

3 Comments
  1. An excellent discussion! I have to say that the question of which world-view offers the most satisfaction kind of stayed on the back-burner but for the reasons Matt gave at the end, I think it was fine leaving it there.
    So encouraging that the whole debate was friendly and respectful……Much like this site, Rob 🙂

    • Frances.

      Thanks again for your comments. It really warms my heart!!! Lovely to hear from you.

      I agree it was an excellent discussion, and yes it was friendly and respectful. It is entirely the philosophy of this site and the events I host/run. I am delighted you think that. I try very hard to listen carefully and treat arguments with rigour, but treat commenters with respect.

      Always love to see you come up in the comment section. 🙂

      Rob

Leave a Reply

